CLUB NOTICE BOARD

Kaye Martin, our Happy Hooper keeps you on your toes:

2    Brown was nicely in the jaws of hoop 7 and couldn’t be removed.  White played towards hoop 8 but went too far and would be offside after the hoop was run. Green and Pink played without affecting play.  The owner of Brown called ‘Your white ball is offside and I will direct it to the far penalty location over there.’ Brown completed the running of the hoop 7 and in that stroke went on to hit White further towards hoop 8.   Hmmm….what now?

3    The owner of Blue was about to play a wrong ball and the referee forestalled him.  The opponent said, ‘Oh. (Looking a bit unhappy) I wasn’t going to tell him so that I could have applied the Ball Swap rule.’ Should the referee have spoken when the opponent to Blue had a strategy in mind which was thwarted by the referee?

4    Blue is in the jaws of hoop 3.   Red to play is in close proximity to Yellow and both those balls reasonably close to the hoop. Red plays and while moving out of her stance, accidentally bumps the Blue ball with her foot causing it to run the hoop.  Bumping a stationary ball with the foot just means the ball is to be replaced doesn’t it?

5    Yellow and Black came to rest close to hoop 1, not in a running position but to the side.  The owner of Yellow played to stun Black but raised a chunk of the soft, moist lawn and didn’t connect with Black. The opponent called the referee to inspect the divot, but Yellow owner had put it back in place and pressed it down before the referee arrived.

Action after the incident
1    Because the Black ball had been directed to the penalty area it is now an outside agency.  The opponent to Blue could have directed the ball to where she or the referee judged it would have stopped. The Blue ball probably would have travelled beyond hoop 10, therefore not in a hoop running position.  A ball becomes an outside agency when it is directed to be played from a penalty area. 6.5.1(b) If a moving ball hits an outside agency, the stroke is not replayed. The opposing side chooses whether to leave the ball where it stopped or to place it where they (or a referee, if present) judge that it would have stopped if there had been no interference. 9.2.3

2    A ball cannot be directed to a penalty area prior to the hoop being run, even if the running of the hoop is guaranteed.  So, the White ball was legitimate in its location at that moment. Since the Brown hit it further towards hoop 8 it was still OK.  A ball beyond the halfway line is not an offside ball if it reached its final position as a result of a stroke played or interference committed by the opposing side. Rule 8.3.2

3     If any player (or referee, if present) believes that a wrong ball is about to be played, they are to forestall play and require that the correct ball is played. Rule 10.1.2

4    No.  Faults occur during the striking period which starts when a player takes a stance with apparent intent to play a stroke and ends when they quit their stance under control.  6.2.1.
A player accidentally moving a ball with the foot is not leaving the stance under control. The opponent chooses whether the balls are left where they stopped or are replaced in the positions they occupied before the stroke was played. The non-offending side is to announce the decision promptly and may not then change that decision. Rule 11.4.2 If the balls are left where they stopped, only a point scored for the non-offending side (Blue) is counted. If the balls are replaced, no point is scored for any ball.

5        A fault is committed by a player who causes damage to the court surface with the mallet that, before the court surface is repaired, is capable of significantly affecting a subsequent stroke played over the damaged area. Rule 11.2.10   This appeared to be significant. It is unacceptable behaviour if a player attempts to repair damage to the court surface that may indicate a fault before it is ruled on by the opposing side (or a referee, if present). Rule 16.2.12 This behaviour incurred a warning.  A second incident under Rule 16 Behaviour, would incur losing the next turn, and with a third incident the match would be awarded to the opposition.

Terminology Part 2 of 2.

2020 June
2020 May

Terminology Part 1 of 2.

Questions

1.    Three balls were lined up in front of the hoop, one behind the other - straight line.  Closest to the hoop was my Yellow, behind it Blue, then Red. With Blue to play next, my opponent tried to clear Yellow but instead put it nicely through the hoop.  I said the hoop did not count for me, as Red was the one I was to play next.  I’m right aren’t I? 
2.    My opponent’s ball had run the hoop but only just through. On her next turn with that ball she wanted to whack it as far as possible towards the next hoop but hit the hoop with her mallet, not making contact with the ball. The ball moved slightly.  I told her as her mallet had not contacted the ball, she could take her stroke again. Was that correct?

1.    No, not correct. The hoop does count for Yellow and play continues with the Red ball. The hoops must be run in order, but not the balls. Rule 7.1.2
2.    No, not correct.  It is a fault to move a ball by hitting the hoop or peg, with the mallet without contacting the ball. Rule 11.2.9. The *Penalty is as above.

Congratulations to those who competed in the 9+ Handicap event. There were many skilful strokes and tricky tactics displayed.  Also prolific was the number of times players had to be forestalled from striking the wrong ball. Below is mention of a variety of circumstances which required attention. 

The Incident

1,    Yellow ran hoop 9 and directed the owner of Black, which was offside, to a penalty location. It was well past the halfway towards hoop 10.   Before removing the Black ball, the owner of Blue played and hit the offside Black ball, stopping the progress of the Blue ball.  Is this OK?